2 security functions, Check count clear conditions – Konica Minolta bizhub Secure User Manual

Page 8

Advertising
background image

bizhub 652/552

1-4

1.2

Security Functions

1

1.2

Security Functions

Setting the Enhanced Security Mode to [ON] will validate the security function of this machine. For details of
the settings of different security functions to be changed by turning [ON] the Enhanced Security Mode, see
page 2-8.

Setting the Enhanced Security Mode to [ON] will enhance the authentication function. Access control is then
provided through password authentication for any access to the Administrator Settings, User Authentication
mode, Account Track mode, User Box, a User Box data file, a Secure Print Document, and WebDAV Server.
Access is thereby granted only to the authenticated user.

A password that can be set must meet the requirements of the Password Rules. The machine does not ac-
cept setting of an easily decipherable password. For details of the Password Rules, see page 1-8.

If a wrong password is entered, during password authentication, a predetermined number of times (once to
three times) or more set by the Administrator of the machine, the machine determines that it is unauthorized
access through Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error, prohibiting any further entry of the pass-
word. By prohibiting the password entry operation, the machine prevents unauthorized use or removal of da-
ta, thereby ensuring secured used of the machine.

To cancel the password entry operation prohibited condition, the Administrator must perform the Release
Setting. When the Administrator performs the Release Setting for the operation prohibited condition, a sound
operation control in utmost security is achieved under the control of the Administrator.

By setting the Encryption Key, the data stored in the HDD is encrypted, thereby protecting the data in the
HDD. Note, however, that the Encryption Key does not prevent the HDD from being physically removed.
Make sure of a good operation control.

When the machine is to be discarded, or use of a leased machine is terminated at the end of the leasing con-
tract, the Overwrite All Data function overwrites and erases all data stored in all spaces of the HDD. The func-
tion also resets all passwords saved in the NVRAM to factory settings, preventing leak of data. For details of
items to be cleared by Overwrite All Data function, see page 1-10.

Check Count Clear Conditions

The following are the conditions for clearing or resetting the check count of the number of wrong entries at
the time of authentication by the Enhanced Security Mode.

<Administrator Settings>

-

Authentication of Administrator Settings is successful.

<User Authentication Mode>

-

User Authentication mode is successful.

-

Release of Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error is executed.

<Account Track Mode>

-

Account Track mode is successful.

-

Release of Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error is executed.

<Secure Print>

-

Authentication of Secure Print is successful.

-

Release of Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error is executed.

<Box>

-

Authentication of User Box is successful.

-

Authentication for execution of change of User Box Name and User Box Password is successful.

-

Release of Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error is executed.

<SNMP Password (auth-Password, priv-Password)>

-

Authentication of SNMP is successful.

-

Release of Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error is executed.

<WebDAV authentication>

-

Authentication of WebDAV is successful.

-

Release of Prohibited Functions When Authentication Error is executed.

Advertising
This manual is related to the following products: