Overview, When to back up and restore – Xerox 242 User Manual

Page 220

Advertising
background image

212

Chapter 9 – Reinstalling the Spire CX260

Overview

This chapter describes when and how to:

•

Back up and restore the entire operating system and Spire CX260 software
(Last Image configuration), including the current job list database

•

Reinstall the software configuration on your Spire CX260.

When to Back Up and Restore

Back up the Spire CX260 software:

•

On a regular basis—for example, weekly—so that you always have a working
copy of your software to be able to restore your system, if necessary.

•

When you want to revert back to a specific configuration.

Restore the system when:

•

The operating system fails.

•

The performance of the operating system is low.

•

The system exhibits unpredictable behavior—for example, if error messages
suddenly appear or if the GUI freezes occasionally.

The Spire CX260 provides two restore methods:

•

Restore Last Image configuration (partition C)—Norton Ghost restores the Last
Image configuration file from partition E.

•

Restore Factory Default configuration—restores partitions C and D from the
Factory Default file on partition E.

You can back up and restore the Spire CX260 system partition and the job list
database at any time.

Tip: Save a copy of the backup, either on the network or on an external device,
to prevent loss of data in case your system disk becomes corrupted.

Note: Restoring the Last Image configuration may not include the most
recent job list database.

Note: Restoring the Factory Default configuration does not include the job
list database.

Advertising
This manual is related to the following products: