Clear device data and restore settings, Clear device data, Restore the original settings – Nokia N900 User Manual

Page 105

Advertising
background image

•

Messages in Conversations

•

Retrieved mail messages in the mailboxes

•

Contact information

•

Calendar notes

•

Applications shown in Application manager that you do

not need

•

Installation files (.deb or .install) of applications you have

installed. Transfer the installation files to a compatible

computer.

Clear device data and restore settings

Clear device data

When you clear data from your device, the data is

permanently deleted.
1 Select

>

Settings

.

2 Open the Settings menu, and select

Clear device

>

Yes

.

3 Enter the lock code of the device, and select

Done

to clear

the device data.

The following data is deleted:
•

Browser user data: bookmarks, user history, passwords,

and cookies

•

Contacts

•

Calendar entries

•

Home shortcuts

•

Mail messages, accounts, and their passwords

•

Instant messaging and internet call accounts

•

Connectivity settings, connections, and their passwords

•

Location information

•

Documents: document favorites; and images, audio, and

video files

•

Settings for text input methods, and user dictionaries

•

Game scores

•

All user settings, including touch screen, display

brightness, and volume settings

•

Profiles

The following data is not affected:
•

Applications that you installed

•

Memory card contents

Restore the original settings

You can restore all device settings to their default values. This

does not affect content or shortcuts you have created,

security codes, passwords, the device language, or game

scores. Also, it does not affect the contents of the device mass

memory.
1 Select

>

Settings

.

2 Open the Settings menu, and select

Restore original

settings

and

Yes

.

3 Enter the lock code of the device, and select

Done

.

Use utilities and manage data 105

© 2010 Nokia. All rights reserved.

Advertising