Show motion path controls, Move motion path keyframes – Adobe After Effects CS4 User Manual

Page 230

Advertising
background image

224

USING AFTER EFFECTS CS4

Animation and keyframes

Last updated 12/21/2009

The density of dots between the boxes in a motion path indicates the relative speed of the layer or effect control point.
Dots close together indicate a lower speed; dots farther apart indicate a greater speed.

Note: Right-click (Windows) or Command-click (Mac OS) a keyframe to open its context menu.

Using the Pen tool or Selection tool to edit keyframes for a spatial property in the Composition or Layer panel is like
modifying a Bezier path for a mask or for a shape on a shape layer. (See “

About paths

” on page 307.)

A motion path is less complex and generally easier to modify when you use fewer keyframes to describe the path. You
can use the Smoother to remove extraneous keyframes from a motion path.

Jonas Hummelstrand and Dan Ebberts provide an animation preset and instructions on the

General Specialist website

for scaling and rotating a motion path.

More Help topics

“

Layer properties in the Timeline panel

” on page 159

“

About animation, keyframes, and expressions

” on page 210

“

Modify a Bezier mask path or shape path

” on page 327

Show motion path controls

Position motion paths appear in the Composition panel. Anchor Point and effect control point motion paths appear
in the Layer panel.

•

To show motion path controls in the Composition panel, choose View > View Options, and select Effect Controls,
Keyframes, Motion Paths, and Motion Handles. To see a Position motion path in the Composition panel, the
Position property must be selected.

•

To show motion path controls in the Layer panel, choose the property or effect from the View menu at the bottom
of the Layer panel.

•

To specify how many keyframes to show for a motion path, choose Edit > Preferences > Display (Windows) or
After Effects > Preferences > Display (Mac OS), and select an option in the Motion Path section.

Move motion path keyframes

1

In the Timeline panel, select the layer for which to modify the motion path.

2

If you cannot see the keyframe you want to modify in the Composition panel or Layer panel, move the current-time
indicator to the keyframe.

3

In the Composition panel or Layer panel, use the Selection tool to drag a keyframe or its handles.

Note: The current-time indicator does not need to be located on a keyframe before you drag it.

Advertising
This manual is related to the following products: