Insert server-side includes, Edit the contents of server-side includes – Adobe Dreamweaver CS3 User Manual

Page 349

Advertising
background image

DREAMWEAVER CS3

User Guide

342

Insert server-side includes

You can use Dreamweaver to insert server-side includes in your page.

Insert a server-side include

1

Select Insert > Server-Side Include.

2

In the dialog box that appears, browse to and select a file.

By default, a File type of include is inserted.

3

To change the type of the include, select the server-side include in the Document window and change the type in

the Property inspector (Window > Properties), as follows:

•

If your server is an Apache web server, select Virtual. In Apache, Virtual works in all cases, while File works only
in some cases.

•

If your server is a Microsoft Internet Information Server (IIS), select File. (Virtual works with IIS only in certain
specific circumstances.)

Note: Unfortunately, IIS won’t allow you to include a file in a folder above the current folder in the folder hierarchy,
unless special software has been installed on the server. If you need to include a file from a folder higher in the folder
hierarchy on an IIS server, ask your system administrator if the necessary software is installed.

•

For other kinds of servers, or if you don’t know what kind of server you’re using, ask your system administrator
which option to use.

Change which file is included

1

Select the server-side include in the Document window.

2

Open the Property inspector (Window > Properties).

3

Do one of the following:

•

Click the folder icon and browse to and select a new file to include.

•

In the box, type the path and filename of the new file to include.

Edit the contents of server-side includes

You can use Dreamweaver to edit server-side includes. To edit the content associated with the included file, you must
open the file.

1

Select the server-side include in either Design view or Code view, and click Edit in the Property inspector.

The included file opens in a new Document window.

2

Edit the file, and then save it.

The changes are immediately reflected in the current document and in any subsequent document you open that
includes the file.

3

Upload the include file to the remote site if necessary.

September 4, 2007

Advertising