Modifying slices, Select one or more slices – Adobe Photoshop CS3 User Manual

Page 517

Advertising
background image

PHOTOSHOP CS3

User Guide

510

Slice badges

The following badges, or icons, indicate certain conditions.

•

User slice has Image content.

•

User slice has No Image content.

•

Slice is layer based.

Show or hide slice boundaries

❖

Choose View > Show > Slices. To hide and show slices along with other items, use the Extras command. See “Show

or hide Extras” on page 45.

Show or hide auto slices

❖

Do one of the following:

•

Select the Slice Select tool, and click Show Auto Slices or Hide Auto Slices in the options bar.

•

Choose View > Show > Slices. Auto slices appear with the rest of your slices.

Show or hide slice numbers

1

Do one of the following:

•

In Windows, choose Edit > Preferences > Guides, Grid, Slices & Count.

•

In Mac OS, choose Photoshop > Preferences > Guides, Grid, Slices & Count.

2

Under Slices, click Show Slice Numbers.

Change the color of slice lines

1

In Windows, choose Edit > Preferences > Guides, Grid, Slices & Count; in Mac OS, choose Photoshop >

Preferences > Guides, Grid, Slices & Count.

2

Under Slice Lines, choose a color from the Line Color menu.

After the color change, selected slice lines are automatically displayed in a contrasting color.

Modifying slices

Select one or more slices

Do one of the following:

•

Select the Slice Select tool

and click the slice in the image. When working with overlapping slices, click the

visible section of an underlying slice to select it.

•

Select the Slice Select tool, and Shift-click to add slices to the selection.

•

Select the Slice Select tool in the Save for Web & Devices dialog box, and click in an auto slice or outside the image
area, and drag across the slices you want to select. (Clicking in a user slice and dragging moves the slice.)

•

Choose File > Save For Web & Devices. In the dialog box, use the Slice tool to select a slice.

When using either the Slice tool or the Slice Select tool, you can switch from one tool to the other by holding down
Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS).

Advertising