Installation of plug-in, Installation, Uninstallation and version upgrade – Dell C7765DN MFP Color Laser Printer User Manual

Page 34: Installation uninstallation and version upgrade

Advertising
background image

2 Installation

34

Installation of Plug-in

This section describes how to install, uninstall, and upgrade the plug-in for the Smart
Card Reader.

Note

• The procedures may vary depending on the version of the installation tool and the

operating system of your computer.

• During machine operation or jobs in progress, installation process cannot be started. In this

case, wait for a while and then start installation.

• During installation process, machine operation is out of service.

Installation

1

Save the installation tool to your computer.

Note

• To obtain the installation tool, contact Customer Support at dell.com/contactdell.

2

Decompress the file (.zip) and double-click the exe file in the installation tool.

Note

• A security warning screen may appear. In this case, click [Run] to continue.

3

Click [Next].

4

Enter the IP address or hostname of your machine, and then click [Next].

Example: 192.0.2.1

5

Enter the system administrator’s user ID and password, and then click [Next].

6

Click [Next].

7

Click [Finish].

Note

• Several minutes may take before the installation process completes.
• To install the feature to another machine in succession, check the [Install on another

device] box on the screen, and then click [Finish]. You can start from step 4.

Uninstallation and Version Upgrade

1

On your computer, double-click the exe file in the installation tool.

2

Click [Next].

3

Enter the IP address or hostname of your machine, and then click [Next].

Example: 192.0.2.1

4

Enter the system administrator’s user ID and password, and then click [Next].

5

Select [Reinstall (Retain settings)] for version upgrade, or [Remove (Remove settings)]
for uninstallation, and then click [Next].

Note

• When you select [Reinstall (Retain settings)], the settings related to the Smart Card

authentication are not deleted. The settings are taken over the new version.

6

After the confirmation screen appears, click [Next].

7

Click [Finish].

Advertising