Cisco 4000 User Manual

Overview of the cisco 4000 series routers

background image


Overview of the Cisco 4000 Series Routers 1-1


Overview of the Cisco 4000
Series Routers

The Cisco 4000 series consists of the Cisco 4000-M, the Cisco 4500-M, and the
Cisco 4700-M. All models provide a configurable modular router platform using network
processor modules—individual modules that when installed in the router are ready for
external network connections. Performance is the key distinction between the
Cisco 4000-M, Cisco 4500-M, and Cisco 4700-M.

For maximum performance in the Cisco 4000 series, the Cisco 4700-M contains a
133-MHz RISC microprocessor, 16 to 64 MB main memory, and a 512-KB secondary
cache. The faster speed of the Cisco 4700-M allows higher throughput for high-speed
interfaces. The 512-KB secondary cache is useful for process switching applications such
as compression and encryption.

The Cisco 4500-M contains a 100-MHz RISC microprocessor and 8 to 32 MB of main
memory. The Cisco 4000-M contains a 40-MHz CISC microprocessor and 4 to 32 MB of
main memory.

All Cisco 4000 series routers provide flexibility, allowing network managers to easily
reconfigure the router when needs change.

The Cisco 4000 series routers support up to three network processor modules at a time. The
following network processor modules are available at the publication date of this guide:

Single-port Fast Ethernet with 100BaseT and MII connectors provided for the port

Single-port and dual-port Ethernet with 10BaseT and AUI connectors provided for each

Six-port Ethernet with 10BaseT connectors provided for each port

Dual-port and four-port synchronous serial supporting EIA/TIA-232, EIA/TIA-449,
V.35, X.21, NRZ/NRZI, DTE/DCE, or EIA-530 DTE interfaces on each port