Adobe After Effects CS3 User Manual

Page 224

Advertising
background image

AFTER EFFECTS CS3

User Guide

219

If you time-stretch a layer so that the resulting frame rate is significantly different from the original frame rate, the
quality of motion within the layer may suffer. For best results when time-remapping a layer, use the Timewarp effect.

See also

“Apply frame blending to a layer” on page 225

“Timewarp effect” on page 535

Time-stretch a layer from a specific time

1

In the Timeline or Composition panel, select the layer.

2

Choose Layer > Time > Time Stretch.

3

Type a new duration for the layer, or type a Stretch Factor.

4

To specify the point in time from which the layer will be time-stretched, click one of the Hold In Place options,

and then click OK.

Layer In-point

Holds the layer’s current starting time, and time-stretches the layer by moving the Out point.

Current Frame

Holds the layer at the position of the current-time indicator (also the frame displayed in the Compo-

sition panel), and time-stretches the layer by moving the In and Out points.

Layer Out-point

Holds the layer’s current ending time and time-stretches the layer by moving the In point.

Time-stretch a layer to a specific time

1

In the Timeline panel, move the current-time indicator to the frame where you want the layer to begin or end.

2

Display the In and Out columns by choosing Columns > In and Columns > Out from the Timeline panel menu.

3

Do one of the following:

•

To stretch the In point to the current time, press Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) as you click the In time
for the layer in the In column.

•

To stretch the Out point to the current time, press Ctrl (Windows) or Command (Mac OS) as you click the Out
time for the layer in the Out column.

Time-stretch a layer but not its keyframes

When you time-stretch a layer, the positions of its keyframes stretch with it by default. You can circumvent this
behavior by cutting and pasting keyframes.

1

Make a note of the time at which the first keyframe appears.

2

In the Timeline panel, click the name of one or more layer properties containing the keyframes you want to keep

at the same times.

3

Choose Edit > Cut.

4

Move or stretch the layer to its new In and Out points.

5

Move the current-time indicator to the time at which the first keyframe appeared before you cut the keyframes.

6

Choose Edit > Paste.

Advertising