Lock or unlock masks, Copy, cut, save, reuse, and delete masks – Adobe After Effects CS3 User Manual

Page 264

Advertising
background image

AFTER EFFECTS CS3

User Guide

259

Lock or unlock masks

Locking a mask prevents you from selecting it in the Timeline, Composition, and Layer panels or setting it as a target
in the Layer panel. Use this feature to avoid unwanted changes to the mask.

1

In the Timeline panel, expand the Masks property group.

2

In the A/V Features column, click the box underneath the Lock icon

next to the mask you want to lock or

unlock. A mask is locked and cannot be selected when its Lock switch is selected—i.e., when the Lock icon appears
in the box.

Note: To unlock multiple masks at one time, select one or more layers and choose Layer > Mask > Unlock All Masks.

Copy, cut, save, reuse, and delete masks

You can reuse masks in other layers and compositions—particularly Bezier masks you’ve spent a long time
perfecting. Mask paths are stored inside a composition in a project file. It can be useful to create a project with
compositions just for storing complex layer masks. When you want to use a mask from another project, import that
project into your current project.

Copy, cut, duplicate, or paste a mask

•

To copy or cut selected masks to the clipboard, choose Edit > Copy or Edit > Cut.

•

To duplicate selected masks, choose Edit > Duplicate.

•

To paste a mask onto a layer, select the layer and then choose Edit > Paste. If a mask is selected, this replaces the
selected mask.

Save a mask

1

In the Timeline panel for the composition containing the layer and mask you want to save, expand the layer and

its mask properties.

2

Do one of the following:

•

To save an animated mask, select the mask keyframes you want to save.

•

To save a nonanimated mask, select the mask.

3

Copy the mask or keyframes, and paste the mask or keyframes to a new layer. The new layer can be a simple solid.

Reuse a mask

1

Open the composition containing the mask you want to reuse. If you saved the mask in another project, import

the project and then open the mask’s composition.

2

In the Timeline panel, expand the saved mask’s layer and mask properties.

3

Select the mask or keyframes.

4

Copy the mask or keyframes, and paste the mask or keyframes to the layer to which you want to apply the mask.

Delete masks

•

To delete one mask, select the mask in the Timeline panel and press Delete.

•

To delete all masks, select the layer containing the masks you want to remove and choose Layer > Masks > Remove
All Masks.

Advertising