Pair deletion, Prerequisite information for deleting pairs – HP XP P9500 Storage User Manual

Page 47

Advertising
background image

4.

Select a Copy Pace, which is the rate that data is to be copied, Slower, Medium, or Faster.
Processing speed and system performance are affected by the pace you select; you see slower
speed and better performance with Slower, faster speed but more impact to performance with
Faster.

5.

Click Finish.

6.

On the Confirm window, enter a Task Name and click Apply.

NOTE:

The following concerns possible post-resync conditions:

•

Make sure that pair status changes to PAIR before attempting any other operation.

•

If the reverse or quick restore operation ends abnormally, the pair status changes to PSUE. In
this case, the primary volume is read/write-enabled for all hosts, but the data is not guaranteed.
The secondary volume remains write-disabled and data is not guaranteed. The status of other
pairs sharing the same primary volume does not change.

Pair deletion

You can delete a pair when you no longer need it. When you delete a pair, the primary and
secondary volumes return to their SMPL state, though their data remains intact. After deletion, both
volumes are available for use in another pair.

NOTE:

When pair status becomes SMPL, it no longer displays in Remote Web Console.

Related information

•

“Prerequisite information for deleting pairs” (page 47)

•

“Deleting pairs” (page 48)

Prerequisite information for deleting pairs

•

The primary and secondary volumes must be synchronized. Before deleting, wait until all write
I/O operations to the primary volume are completed, set the primary volume offline, then split
the pair.

•

Pair deletion cannot be performed when the pair status is PSUS(SP)/PSUS.

Pair deletion

47

Advertising