Create a clipping mask for a group or layer, Edit a clipping mask, Edit paths within a clipping set – Adobe Illustrator CC 2015 User Manual

Page 289: Add or remove an object from masked artwork, Release objects from a clipping mask

Advertising
background image

284

Reshaping objects

Last updated 6/5/2015

Create a clipping mask for a group or layer

1

Create the object you want to use as the mask.

This object is called the clipping path. Only vector objects can be clipping paths.

2

Move the clipping path and the objects you want to mask into a layer or group.

3

In the Layers panel, make sure that the masking object is at the top of the group or layer, and then click the name of
the layer or group.

4

Click the Make/Release Clipping Masks button at the bottom of the Layers panel or select Make Clipping Mask from
the Layers panel menu.

Edit a clipping mask

1

In the Layers panel, select and target the clipping path. Or, select the clipping set and choose Object > Clipping Mask
> Edit Mask.

2

Do any of the following:

• Move the clipping path by dragging the object’s center reference point with the Direct Selection tool.

• Reshape the clipping path using the Direct Selection tool.

• Apply a fill and stroke to a clipping path.

To select all clipping paths in a document, deselect all artwork. Then choose Select > Object > Clipping Masks.

Edit paths within a clipping set

To edit portions of a path that fall outside of the clipping mask, you must first select the specific path within in the
clipping mask boundary, and then edit the path.

1

Do one of the following:

• Target the path in the Layers panel.

• Position the Direct Selection tool over a portion of the path that appears within the mask. When the path’s outline

appears, click it.

Note: To select a clipped path by clicking it, you must click the portion of it that appears inside the mask.

2

Edit the path.

Add or remove an object from masked artwork

❖

In the Layers panel, drag the object into or out of the group or layer that contains the clipping path.

Release objects from a clipping mask

❖

Do one of the following:

• Select the group that contains the clipping mask, and choose Object > Clipping Mask > Release.

• In the Layers panel, click the name of the group or layer that contains the clipping mask. Click the Make/Release

Clipping Masks button at the bottom of the panel, or select Release Clipping Mask from the panel menu.

Because the clipping mask was assigned a fill and stroke value of None, it is now not visible unless you select it or
assign it new paint attributes.

Advertising
This manual is related to the following products: