Apply a drop shadow, Create a skewed drop shadow – Adobe Flash Professional CS3 User Manual

Page 259

Advertising
background image

FLASH CS3

User Guide

253

Apply a drop shadow

The Drop Shadow filter simulates the look of an object casting a shadow onto a surface.

Text with the Drop Shadow filter applied.

For a sample of a drop shadow, see the Flash Samples page at

www.adobe.com/go/learn_fl_samples

. Download and

decompress the Samples zip file and navigate to the Graphics\AnimatedDropShadow directory.

1

Select the object to apply a drop shadow to, and select Filters.

2

Click the Add Filter (+) button, and select Drop Shadow.

3

Edit the filter settings on the Filter tab:

•

To set the width and height of the drop shadow, drag the Blur X and Y sliders.

•

To set the distance of the shadow from the object, drag the Distance slider.

•

To open the Color Picker and set the shadow color, click the color control.

•

To set the darkness of the shadow, drag the Strength slider. The higher the numerical value, the darker the shadow.

•

To set the angle of the shadow, enter a value, or click the angle selector and drag the angle dial.

•

Select Knockout to knock out (or visually hide) the source object and display only the drop shadow on the
knockout image.

•

To apply the shadow within the boundaries of the object, select Inner shadow.

•

To hide the object and display only its shadow, select Hide Object. Hide Object lets you more easily create a
realistic shadow.

•

Select the quality level for the drop shadow. High is approximate to that of a Gaussian blur. Low maximizes
playback performance.

Create a skewed drop shadow

Skewing the Drop Shadow filter to create a more realistic looking shadow.

1

Select the object with the shadow you want to skew.

2

Duplicate (select Edit > Duplicate) the source object.

3

Select the duplicated object, and skew it using the Free Transform tool (Modify > Transform > Rotate And Skew).

4

Apply the Drop Shadow filter to the duplicated movie clip or text object. (It will already be applied if the object

you duplicated already had a drop shadow.)

5

In the Filters panel, select Hide Object to hide the duplicated object while leaving its shadow visible.

6

Select Modify > Arrange > Send Backward to place the duplicated object and its shadow behind the original object

that you duplicated.

7

Adjust both the Drop Shadow filter settings and the angle of the skewed drop shadow until you achieve the desired look.

Advertising